Software Freedom Day 2015

From FOSS Nepal Community Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Inroduction

Software Freedom Day (SFD) is the worldwide celebration of Free and Open Source Software (FOSS). Our goal in this celebration is to educate the worldwide public about the benefits of using high quality FOSS in education, in government, at home, and in business -- in short, everywhere! The non-profit organization Software Freedom International, coordinates SFD at a global level, providing support, giveaways and a point of collaboration, but volunteer teams around the world organize the local SFD events to impact their own communities.


This year, the annual Software Freedom Day is being celebrated in 19th September, 2015. Like previous years, this year too, the FOSS Nepal Community is organizing this event.


Program Summary

Software Freedom Day 2015

Key Activities

  1. Open Community Stall
  2. Presentation from different IT Company representative
  3. Round Table discussion with Open Community
  4. Open Sketch
  5. Open Idea
  6. Linux Installation Camp
  7. Music Party

Schedule

Event Schedule.png

Organizing Team

Name Responsibilities Email Address
Arjun Gautam Event Management, Finance, Co-ordination, Lead arjun.gautam.1694@gmail.com
Jagannath Neupane Event Management, Finance, Co-ordination jneupane07@gmail.com
Saroj Aryal Finance
Aadesh Shrestha Artworks, Volunteer Management aadeshere1@gmail.com
Pawan Kumar Kandel Media, Documentation pkkandel1@gmail.com
Shubham Ghimire College Co-ordination, Social media shubhamghimire1996@gmail.com


Celebrating Partners

Name Contact Person Email Address
Open Knowledge Nepal Prakash Neupane, Nikesh Balami, Manish Dangol, Kshitiz Khanal nprkshn@gmail.com
Mozilla Nepal Avash Mulmi, Surit Aryal avashmulmi@gmail.com
Wikipedia Nepal Ganesh Paudel, Saroj Dhakal, Nabin Sapkota, Nirmal Dulal gpaudel@gmail.com
Open Street Map (OSM) Nepal Nama Raj Budhathoki, Amrit Karmacharya, Nirab Pudasaini developer.nirab@gmail.com
Google Developer Group (GDG) Kathmandu Bhupal Sapkota sapkotabhupal@gmail.com
Google Business Group (GBG) Kathmandu Amit Agrawal amit@janakitech.com
DN-PHP Developer Nepal Manish Jung Thapa, Nootan Ghimire, Shritesh Bhattarai thapa.manish16@gmail.com
DN-Python Developer Nepal Amit Agrawal, Chandan Goopta amit@janakitech.com
DN-KTMJS Punit Jajodia punit@parewalabs.com
DN-Ruby Developer Nepal Saroj Maharjan, Ganesh Kunwar saroj@zoras.me, gkunwar09@gmail.com
Chitwanix Sagar Chhetri info@chitwanix.com
Wordpress Nepal Subhash Khadka
KUSOC Aatish Neupane
Robotics Association Nepal Ajay

Supported By

  1. Nepal Engineering Association
  2. Nepal Telecommunication Authority
  3. DigiTrust
  4. Rooster Logic

Individual Supporters

  1. Mr. Saroj Dhakal
  2. Mr. Utsav Bhetuwal

Event Documentations

  1. Full Event Documentation
  2. Event Review : Spandam Pradhan
  3. Media Coverage: TechLekh Sanjeev Mainali
  4. Photo Collection